April members recital – Hamilton West Church

Our April event is a members recital at Hamilton West Parish Church on Saturday 21 April at 2.30pm.   All are invited to this OPEN recital.

Lanarkshire Society of Organists

Hamilton West Church is located conveniently next to Hamilton West train station.  There is ample parking in the car parks nearby.


Calderbank organ recital

John Burnett – member of the Lanarkshire Society of Organists – is giving a recital in Calderbank Parish Church ‪on Sunday 25th March at 2.30pm‬

‪All are welcome to come along ‬

Organ Recital 21st October 2017


We are really looking forward to our next event taking place on 21st October at Airdrie: Cairnlea Parish Church of Scotland.   This is a recital with Steven McIntyre, who is Assistant Organist of St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral in Glasgow (the large church on Great Western Rd) working with Frikki Walker who has come along to the LSO before for a lovely come and sing at Hamilton.

Steven has chosen a programme already which will show of the wonderful organ at Airdrie: Cairnlea, where Marjory Macdonald is organist.

The recital is at the normal time of 2.30pm and tea/coffee etc. will be available afterwards.

Please do encourage folks to come along to the autumn recital in our syllabus.  Cairnlea itself is an interesting building in an Italianate style with campanile to the SW corner.

The organ itself is interesting, being of a high quality for your Parish Church.

Cairnlea is located central in Airdrie, but due to road layouts we have given some directions and best suggestions for parking.

  • The postal address for the church is 84 Johnston St, Airdrie ML6 6AZ.  However, this the only road that the “front door” looks on to.
  • It is much better to aim for Hallcraig Street which has three car parks right next to Cairnlea Church.
  • The map below shows Cairnlea in relation to Hallcraig Street and the car parks, as you can see Johnston Street really isn’t suitable.
  • The front and side doors to the building will be open so please enter from which ever door is best suited.


cairnlea map

After the recital we are going to Guidi’s at Coatdyke for tea.   We’ve been here before and a good time has been enjoyed in previous years so we hope as many as possible can come along.  Please get in touch with Marjory MacDonald to put your name down so we can let the restaurant know for seating.  Marjory’s email is Marjory.macdonald@tiscali.co.uk and her phone number is 01236 762669.   Please let Marjory know ASAP if you can come for tea.   If you are coming and want to bring a +1 along that would be wonderful, and we would warmly welcome any newcomers.

La Nativité du Seigneur – by Andrew Caskie

Andrew Caskie, organist of Palmerston Place Church, Edinburgh presents the work La Nativité du Seigneur (Messiaen)

Saturday 28th November 2015 at 7:30pm – Dunfermline Abbey

Saturday 5th December 2015 at 7:30pm – Palmerston Place Church, Edinburgh

Both Performances include readings and admission is free

Andrew has been Director of Music at Palmerston Place Church since 2003 and can usually be found either playing the organ, conducting the choir, or playing the piano with the praise band. When not doing any of the above he works in the engineering sector.

La Nativité du Seigneur (The Nativity of the Lord or The Birth of the Saviour) is a work for organ, written by the French composer Olivier Messiaen in 1935.

La Nativité du Seigneur is a testament to Messiaen’s Christian faith, being divided into nine “meditations” inspired by the birth of Jesus. In volume one, Messiaen outlines his inspirations, both theological, instrumental and compositional. As the composer notes in his preface, he sought “the emotion and sincerity first”.The work was written by the composer at the age of 27 years during the summer of 1935 while he was in residence at Grenoble near the French Alps. Messiaen wrote that in addition to theology, the movements were inspired by the mountains, as well as the stained glass windows in medieval cathedrals.

The work was premiered on 27 February 1936 on the organ of La Trinité, Paris, shared among three players: Daniel-Lesur (1–3), Jean Langlais (4–6), and Jean-Jacques Grunenwald (7–9).

The work is in nine movements, each depicting an image or concept from the birth of Jesus. In publication, the work is divided over four books.

  1. La vierge et l’enfant (The Virgin and Child)
  2. Les bergers (The Shepherds)
  3. Desseins éternels (Eternal designs)
  4. Le verbe (The Word)
  5. Les enfants de Dieu (The Children of God)
  6. Les anges (The Angels)
  7. Jésus accepte la souffrance (Jesus accepts suffering)
  8. Les mages (The Magi)
  9. Dieu parmi nous (God Among Us)

The work is one of the earliest to feature elements that were to become key to Messiaen’s later compositions, such as the extensive use of the composer’s own modes of limited transposition, as well as influence from birdsong, and the meters and rhythms of Ancient Greek and traditional Indian music.

In 1967, Richard Franko Goldman wrote, “One is, indeed, tempted to say that the work is a masterpiece, and one of the great organ works of all time. It is certainly monumental and impressive, original and memorable, with or without the theoretical and mystical explanation the composer himself gives out.”